MAC Studio Fix Fluid

MAC Studio Fix Fluid

*post based on free samples*

The MAC Studio Fix Fluid isn’t a new foundation, but MAC had some sort of promo going on for it lately and so I got two samples, NC 10 and NC 15.

Most of MAC’s liquid foundations are designed for combination to oily skin, they are meant to be long lasting. If your skin is dry you probably won’t be too happy with the finishes of the liquid foundations. I used to prefer the creamier compact foundations when my skin was drier, but I got the dry patches under control with a new skin care regime. Now my skin is more combination/normal rather than extremely combination (oily t-zone and very dry cheeks). So this is why I’m not repurchasing the Mineralize Compact anymore, even though I used to like it.

Back to Studio Fix Fluid: This foundation has no added perfume. It does, however have a super funky smell that you can notice for quite a while after application as well. It doesn’t mean it has gone bad already, that’s just how this thing smells and personally I like that they didn’t try to mask it with some obnoxious flowery scent, but if you’ve never tried Studio Fix before I think you should know about the smell. On the upside, no added perfume components means one less thing that can irritate your skin, which is good, especially if you’re oily (irritation makes skin produce more sebum aka more oil).

The Studio Fix has also a lot of powder in it. It needs to be shaken before use, so that the powder that sunk down can reintegrate with the liquid. The finish between medium and full and looks like you already powdered down. This is a really good foundation for oily skin, while someone with dry skin might feel like they’re in the desert. I found it comfortable to wear, though. I did need more highlighter than usual because the finish is very much not luminous.

When I review foundations I usually say that I got oily in the t-zone after four hours, which is normal etc. That is with powdering down. Well, with the Studio Fix I get four hours without putting powder on top and five hours of no shine if I add powder on top. That’s really good in my books.

Finally, some swatches:

First the two Studio Fix swatches, followed by my trusted MAC Studio Finish concealer, Chanel Les Beiges and my favorite foundation on earth: Essence Camouflage. The last three are quite close together, but the first two lean a lot more yellow if you ask me. Also, no that is not a typo. I swatched the Studio Fix in NC 15 and uinderneath the Studio Finish in NC 15 and they look completely different! I used to think MAC colors are always the same, just with slight differences, but that is not slight. So I unearthed my old Studio Finish in NC 20, from before I was careful with my sun protection.

First the concealer in NC 20, then the Fix fluid in NC 15. They are a lot closer than the other two above.

Soooo, if you think you know your MAC color and want the Studio Fix, go one shade lighter. I’m usually NC 15 and the Studio Fix in NC 10 was not too light for me. If you’re usually NC 10 – well, you’re out of luck. However, if normal MAC shade range is just a bit too light for you, the darkest Studio Fix might work.

So, overall I liked wearing this foundation. The wear was fantastic, the coverage what I personally need (in between medium and full although I could not build it up to full). The finish is just very powdery and also kinda thick. This is certainly no “no make up make up” foundation and it has not the slightest bit of dewyness. While I liked it, I didn’t like it enough to buy a full size.

Also keep in mind that with MAC foundations you always have to purchase an extra pump, so calculate that in if you want to buy one. At the moment since this foundation is being promoted you get a free pump if you buy it, though. (Might depend on country and store.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.