MAC Retro Matte Lip Color Divine-Divine

MAC Retro Matte Lip Color Divine-Divine

Here’s my review of the third MAC Retro Matte liquid lipstick I bought back in spring. It’s the color Divine-Divine, which is basically Barbie Pink. This is from the regular MAC retro matte lineup. They have recently released new ones with shimmer in, but this is not one of those.

Before I go on, allow me to give a little history of lipstick trends: when I was a teen, lipgloss was all the rage. Nobody wore lipstick, nobody. This has led to adult me despising lipgloss, because it’s sticky and doesn’t last well and hair constantly sticks to it, ugh. Then Chanel released their Rouge Coco Shines, to seduce people who loved gloss back to lipsticks. And it worked, so for a while shiny, sheer lipstick was the thing. Then the Chubby sticks came out, going for a similar but slightly less glossy finish. Then the trend slowly went towards glossy stains. I dislike glossy stains because they’re still too much like lipgloss to me. Luckily technology marched on and liquid lipsticks that were not glossy became a thing. This was the biggest lip trend for the last few years: very matte lips. Then, this year people got bored by super matte lips and the metallic lip trend was born. There will be several matte metallic lipstick reviews coming up on this blog. But this one right here is still on the very matte, non shimmery side of things.

Still mostly wet swatch of Divine-Divine. You can already see it drying to the thin, very texturized finish typical for the liquid retro mattes. The color is a light bubble gum pink. Basically every time I put it on I was surprised at how light it is, but it ends up looking pretty good (might depend on your skin color). Most of MAC’s retro mattes were too dark for me except for this one and Flesh Stone.

Lip swatch shot with my phone. This is basically what Divine-Divine looks like after a couple of hours. This is not cracked, but the lip lines show super deep. In my experience this is completely normal with this sort of finish. To avoid cracking it is important to smile after application so that the color can settle in there before it dries. If you do that, the lines will show, but if you don’t you’ll get cracking as soon as you move your mouth.

Divine-Divine lasts very well and is really only affected by oil. So oily food takes it off (on the inside mostly) or oil remover. Otherwise it sticks on. The finish feels and looks dry and the next day my lips felt drier than usual. But for me this was not worse than matte MAC lipsticks in a bullet. Matte MAC stuff is just drying. I combat that by applying a strong lip balm before application and then again after I take the lipstick off. If you generally have a problem with flaky lips you probably won’t get happy with Divine-Divine as it does show the flakes.

While I like the colors I own I don’t feel the need to have any more of these. They’re okay for a certain sort of look, but then I’m glad when I can reach for more creamy stuff again. As mentioned, there’s going to be some more shimmery stuff up next, right for fall and holiday season!

4 thoughts on “MAC Retro Matte Lip Color Divine-Divine

  1. The lip glosses of our youth are definitely not the same as the ones on the market now! I remember this HORRENDOUS gloss I had that was so sticky and goopy but I wore it so proudly! 😛
    I’ve never caught onto the matte lip or the liquid lipstick trend – I like a bit of slip with my lip products. I’m firmly in the cream / satin camp when it comes to lip colour. I guess it’s a habit but I press my lips together often, I’ve noticed. Matte lips just feel wrong when I do this! Looking forward to seeing your metallic lips coming up – another trend that I haven’t caught onto…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hah I know they’re better now but I still don’t like wearing them. and yes, I remember teen me felt so cool with that goopy mess on, haha.
      liquid lipsticks are honestly fussy, you truly do have to change your behvior it’s so weird. I don’t really wear them more than once a week but sometimes I want them.
      you might like them metallic ones so far they are a lot more slippy and creamy in my experience. of course you have to like the look of it too or it won’t work out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

