Tom Ford Black Orchid EdP

Tom Ford Black Orchid EdP

Well here goes nothing: This is my bottle of Tom Ford Black Orchid EdP. You probably heard of this perfume before. It was released in 2006, more than ten years ago. Omg, what! Time flies. In 2015 they released the matching EdT (same bottle but all black). At this point I’d like to thank the SA, who, when I said I wanted to buy the EdT told me: “You’ll want the EdP, trust me.” She was right. The EdT only lasted half the amount of time that the EdP did.

Black Orchid EdP is a room-filing sillage monster and lasts ten hours on me. Luckily most of coworkers seem to be anosmic to any and all perfumes.

I think Black Orchid is the kind of perfume you can only hate or love. It’s a cacophony of notes. I can barely tell any specific note apart from the rest. It is too much at once. And that was also what led me to love it. You can find lots of easy sweet perfumes that don’t overwhelm you. But one that is “ride or die” yet still smells amazing? Yes, please.

I won’t even bother putting down any notes for it. It’s in the broad strokes of an “oriental flower” in the same way that a puddle and the ocean are both bodies of water. There’s some fruit in it, some flower, a lot of base notes. When the massive opening mellows down, you get some lovely pralines with sandalwood and patch.

Very much worth testing, even if you may end up hating it. At least let the opening run its course until you reach the base before you make up your mind.

Perfumer is David Apel.

Leave a Reply

