MAC Chromat: #Shockvalue and #Chromatbabe

MAC Chromat: #Shockvalue and #Chromatbabe

And today in: “Did she fall for special packaging again?” I present you: MAC Chromat. This is MAC’s current LE. It’s a designer collab again. I’d never heard of Chromat before, but I checked them out for this post and their swim wear looks great.

The LE has see through plastic packaging instead of black carton. The blue line design is repeated on the products. If you look closely, it’s not just random lines. I think it forms a female figure/corset.

I bought the eyeshadow x 6 palette (#Chromatbabe Super Pack) and the blue lipstick (#Shockvalue).

The lipstick comes in amplified finish, meaning it’s high color but not matte. Here I swatched #Shockvalue first, followed by Dreampot. While #Shockvalue is LE, I think Dreampot is permanent. (At least it has been in stores since it was released.) On the side I added a swatch of Hi Def Cyan. The color is not identical to #Shockvalue, but close enough that you can use it as lip liner/base if you want to.

Now, #Shockvalue applies very well and did not migrate once it was on. However, it is not a matte lipstick and does not have the lasting power of one. It survives several hours without eating or drinking, but if you do take a sip it will wear off on the inside. After a meal there’s nothing left on the inside. The outer parts survived for me, but I didn’t eat anything super greasy.

Lipswatch! Honestly, this is my new favorite blue lipstick, the clolor just works soooo well!

On to the eye shadow: I swatched them top-bottom, repeat. First row is more matte, second row more shimmery. The colors are in order of my swatches: Sabina Sangre (Satin), Structrued Satin (Satin), Triennial Wave (Satin), Duabandita (Veluxe Pearl), Mindfiles (Frost) and Blue Black (Veluxe Pearl).

So there are no true mattes among the shadows, which I like because mattes can be difficult. You can see a little bit of shimmer in the blue and the orange swatch, but on the lid they look matte. All of the colors are soft and pigmented. It’s a good idea to apply them before the rest of the makeup, just in case you get a lot of drop down, but for me they behaved. Most of the drop down was blue shimmer and that’s the sort of stuff that migrates later on as well.

The first color is Sabina Sangre, a juicy orange. I own a few orange shadows but nothing quite like this shade. It is pigmented and was easy to pat into place.

Structured Satin is black. I like using it as eyeliner. It goes on dark and stays like that. You can blend it out as an eyeshadow as well, though.

Triennial Wave also offers good pigmentation. As with all strong colors I pat it on instead of wiping around with the brush. The color needs no base to shine (I did all my testing without base or primer) but if you wanted to really pop it you could use Hi Def Cyan underneath.

Duabandita is a brown with teal shimmer. Mac has a loose pigment like that, too, but I don’t own it. It’s a very beautiful color and looks different from every angle. It went on like a dream and stayed there, too (usually I get a lot creasing when not wearing primer).

Mindfiles is a gunmetal grey. It actually applies pretty dark. The shimmer makes it look lighter in the pan. This one needs a bit of blending or a light hand when picking the color up with the brush.

I was pleasantly surpised by Blue Black, as the blue aspect really comes out. I have a similar eyeshadow that loses a lot of the blue shimmer when applied and ends up looking mostly black. Blue Black is still a black with blue shimmer but you can still see some of the blue on the lid.

This is one of my testing looks. I wear no other makeup and I didn’t intend to photograph it, but since I did snap a pic I might as well show it. On the lid I wear only Duabandita, you can see both the brown and the teal side of it. In the crease there’s a mix of Mindfiles and Blue Black. The other three (Sabina Sangre, Structured Satin, Triennial Wave) are used as liners. Now for a real look I would probably not use all six at once and I might want to add in a normal transition shade but I think the colors actually work together as well. There’s quite a number of possible combinations with #Chromatbabe.

So, for those who like a little more unusual color in their makeup I can recommend both items. As of now they should still be available as well.

5 thoughts on “MAC Chromat: #Shockvalue and #Chromatbabe

  1. I can’t keep up with MAC’s LE collections anymore! I’ve never even heard of Chromat coming out…
    I’m not one to wear blue lipsticks (eye shadows) but that shade works really well on you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. it’s pretty much one LE a month, often more. Way too much, honestly. Some of them are MAC store exclusive like Chromat so there’s pretty easy to miss as well.
      I don’t even aim to buy from all of them I just honestly happened to like the stuff lately >_<

      Like

Leave a Reply

