L’Artisan Parfumeur Al Oudh

L’Artisan Parfumeur Al Oudh

Boah, people say. What is that stink?

Firstly, that’s L’Artisan Parfumeur Al Oudh, and secondly it smells awesome, I say.

No, okay Oud is an acquired taste, maybe, and Al Oudh doesn’t pull it’s punches. Those in the niche perfume fandom, on the other hand, are already all over the oud hype. Yawn, how boring, they say. As usual, it’s a thing of perspective.

Al Oudh was released in 2009, eight years ago, sorta at the start of the oud trend in niche perfumery. Perfumer is Bertrand Douchafour.

This time the notes list on the packaging is in french only so I don’t understand much. Oudh, boise, epice, cuire, it says.

So my nose gets oud and leather and also a healthy dose of dates. Spices, maybe and I’m really not sure of the rest. I think it’s a mixture of a lot of things but I can’t pick them out.

Overall Al Oudh is pretty strong and just weird for the non-oud initiated. But I’ve worn it to work and nobody complained, so (they might not have realized it was perfume). The strong phase goes on for about four to five hours. The dry down is much gentler, more sandalwood, maybe or some other woods.

Personally I really like it for when I feel like oud. I have not felt the need to own any other oud (because lets face it, they’re not different enough). Also had I smelled this one before I smelled Guerlain Santal Royal I would have been a lot less forgiving for Santal Royal. Al Oudh is coherent. Santal Royal is a mess compared to it.

As usual I have the old bottle but I think the juices are unchanged.

Leave a Reply

