L’Artisan Parfumeur Fou d’Absinthe

L’Artisan Parfumeur Fou d’Absinthe

We are currently going through an unusual heatwave over here. My ususal go-to scent when it’s hot is a citrus cologne. But there’s only so much citrus cologne you can wear until you get bored. So I pulled out my little bottle of L’Artisan Parfumeur Fou d’Absinthe EdP. Funny thing about their bottles (at least the old bottles – I still don’t own one of their new design) is that the golden cap is always the same size, no matter if the bottle is 100ml, 50ml or 30ml.

Alright so usually Fou d’Absinthe is a cool smelling green; a scent more typical ‘manly’ than ‘womanly’. Right now in the heat it is suddenly a lot more powdery, but still in a cooling way. I feel like now it is more spice than pine and it’s the other way round when the temperatures are cool. I found it okay to good before, now I like it much better.

In a nutshell: worth a revisit as seasons change.

The official notes as listed on the cardboard packaging are: wormwood, spices, patchouli, pine needles.

A note on the patch: I don’t find it to be a strong patch note, although right now it does give off a cool earthy vibe so I guess it’s got more noticable patch than your average mainstream perfume. (Funfact: I have a coworker who really dislikes patch and can sniff it out in even the fruitiest perfumes where I don’t notice a thing. He’d hate Fou d’Absinthe.)

Does it smell of absinth aka the drink? Only if you sniff straight from the bottle. 😉

Fou d’Absinthe was released in 2006 and is still available. Nose is Olivia Giacobetti.

Leave a Reply

