L’Artisan Parfumeur L’Eau d’Ambre Extreme

L’Artisan Parfumeur L’Eau d’Ambre Extreme

Oh boy, I thought to myself. L’Eau d’Ambre Extreme, that’s going to be too much for me, right?

Then found out that adding on ‘Extreme’ is simply L’Artisan Parfumeur‘s way of denoting a flanker (see: La Chasse Aux Papillons Extreme, Mure et Musk Extreme). 😄 The perfumes themselves aren’t necessarily more extreme than the original. So, don’t expect this one to be like the original L’Eau d’Ambre (1978), because it’s not as far as I can tell. L’Eau d’Ambre Extreme was released in 2001, perfumer is Jean-Claude Ellena. I have the old packaging here, the newer bottles are all in that black packaging.

So, how does it smell like, other than yummy? Because I can tell you it is very yummy. It’s spicy and sweet and cozy and just very ambery. Lately I was lucky enough to be able to smell a mixture with only benzoin as a scent component in and I realized that’s the stuff I like so much. And LdAE has lots of that benzoin.* I think I also detect patchouli and vanilla, a light base of musk, possibly a touch of sandalwood. There’s more to the top note. The top is a bit harsh with it’s spices, but the perfume calms down quickly and then just wafts all those lovely base stuff. At times it also turns smoky, but not like incense. More like a really good cigar.

The official notes as listed on my packaging are: Spices, patchouli, damascena rose, benzoin, vanilla.

As a base heavy perfume this stuff lasts almost forever. I get ten or more hours on skin, longer on clothes of course. Sometimes you forget it’s here and then it starts wafting again. It smells so warm and sometimes intense, a work colleague started to look for the ‘scent lamp someone must have lighted’ until I admitted that was probably me. Luckily he didn’t complain or something.

All in all I find LdAE extremely wonderful. The only ‘downside’ is that it stopped me from buying any more amber perfumes. Everytime I sample one I ask myself ‘is this in any way better or very different to LdAE of which I own 100ml after all?’ And the answer is usually no. This shows that while I like amber I’m not crazy about it, because when it comes to orange blossom, already owning a 100ml bottle has never stopped me from acquiring more. 😄

 

*I just realized I’ve been typing that as ‘benzoe’ in my other entries so far. Turns out that’s the German word, English is benzoin (resin). While I’m footnoting I’d like to point you to this entry in kafkaesqueblog, which is the be all end all explanation of amber notes as far as I am concerned: clicky.

Leave a Reply

