essence I ♥ Extreme volume mascara

essence I ♥ Extreme volume mascara

On to the last makeup item from my essence calendar. Finally! 😄

This is the I (heart) extreme volume mascara. I have another essence mascara which I love dearly. I would have reviewed it but it is already discontinued, so you’ll hear about it in an empties post instead. This one here should still be available. Anyways since I have this other volumising essence mascara I couldn’t help but comparing them and honestly the discontinued one is so much better why keep this one and not the other what????

Ahem. Let’s take a look at the brush.

The brush is seriously big. I put my finger next to it to show how big (this is my pinky). The brush is long and the bristles are very long as well. This means that everytime I try to get the roots of my lashes, the bristles poke through my lashes and color my eyelid. Meh.

This was produced by making only a small swipe. It covered most of my wrist.

The formula itself is okay. If you gave this to me without the label and asked me what sort of mascara it was I’d have said: “This is nice and separating. Is it a lengthening formula?” What I would not have guessed is volumising because that’s the one thing it does not do. If you can be bothered to fight with the bristles you could add several coats which might give you volume, for it does not clump. But I can’t be bothered and so it colors my lashes black and that’s it.

The formula is not waterproof. It mostly does not smudge unless I sweat a lot. It crumbles a little bit, sometimes. It held the curl (in my experience really volumising formulas weigh the lashes down).

I’ve had worse mascaras but I’ve also had better ones at the same price point. I prefer the “forbidden volume” from the same brand, sadly discontinued. That one did deliver on the volume.

2 thoughts on “essence I ♥ Extreme volume mascara

Leave a Reply

