Kenzo Jungle

Kenzo Jungle

Today’s the day; today we’re talking about Kenzo Jungle EdP. This is one of my absolute favorites, which makes writing about it quite hard. I mostly just want to scream at your faces to try it.

This carton is usually standing around somehwat pushed aside by Kenzo best sellers like Flower and it’s flankers, but it can usually be found everywhere Kenzo is sold. It was first released in 1996 and was originally called Jungle L’Elephant. There was also a Jungle Le Tigre, but that one was sadly discontinued. So nowadays when you see ‘Jungle’ it means the one with the Elephant. Perfumer is Dominique Ropion.

Here’s the elephant, chilling on top of the bottle. 🙂

Now, the smell. Ah, the smell of Jungle. It’s quite distinctive and also quite loud. Even people who usually don’t notice perfume on people will probably notice this. Jungle is also quite distinctive. I don’t (yet) know of anything else that smells quite like it. It’s a spice bomb, basically. If you like the smell of curry, of masala chai and things like it, this is in the same family. Jungle has enough vanilla and amber in it to come across as a sweet perfume, but there’s also the somewhat spicy liquorice and a huge amount of cardamom. Also cumin. Basically it smells a lot like you had a huge accident in the pantry. Also Jungle is very long lasting, so good luck scrubbing it off. I once got it onto a coat sleeve and my home smelled of Jungle for weeks afterwards.

I think that the currently most common trend in mainstream perfumery is still berries with sugar while a trend in niche perfumery is smelling like masala chicken (the other niche trend is oud). This mainstream perfume here does the spices trend loud and proud and makes me wonder if mainstream perfume in the nineties was braver than today? I hope Jungle keeps selling because I am not willing to live without it.

Now, ths is more of a fall/winter perfume for me. Even if I don’t normally divide by seasons but Jungle can get exhausting in warm weather. So reviewing it in spring is maybe sort of weird but we are having a very rainy stormy weekend right now and I felt like I had to get Jungle out. If you want to try it but are unsure about such an intense pefume I suggest doing it in cold weather.

I just really love Jungle. For me it is the gold standard of ‘this is awesome!’ XD It’s the blue lipstick of perfumery, the exact opposite of subtle.

Leave a Reply

