MAC Colour Rocker: Indigo-Go, Deep With Envy

MAC Colour Rocker: Indigo-Go, Deep With Envy

MAC has what feels like a hundred LEs out at the moment and I’m getting fatigued. But there’s this one, called Colour Rocker that includes so many unusual lip colors. All lipsticks are matte and I had to really hold myself in. Can’t spend a hundred bucks on blue lipsticks, right? But I chose two: Indigo-Go and Deep With Envy. The first is a muted mid-tone blue; it’s sort of a dark jeans blue and not as neon as the other blues. Deep With Envy is emerald green.

Even before I got into unusal colored makeup I knew I wanted to own a mid to high end green lipstick. I wanted one for years, even before I was confident enough to wear red lipstick. 😄 And for the longst time there were no good ones available so I had to have this one here. The blue I chose because it loked pretty.

Both are in MAC’s matte formula, so they are somewhat dry and long lasting. Of course with colors like these, wear is much more visible, but I found that Indigo-Go was a bit more forgiving of wear than Deep With Envy. Indigo-Go wore off evenly and left me with a transparent stain. Of course, that look was a bit ghoulish, but you’re not going to be wearing such colors unless you are okay with that anyway. Indigo-Go also felt a bit creamier on application so it went on smoother. Both colors needed two coats to look opaque.

Both lipsticks last around four hours on me, then they are still on but visibly reduced.

As for liner I do not know of any matching lip liner. You could use an eye liner. I tried using Landscape Green for Deep With Envy but that doesn’t work out – Landscape Green is much more yellow than Deep With Envy. And Indigo-Go is more muted than most blue liners. However, since they went on nicely there is no real need for liner. I did not notice much migration either during my wear. To get the lines crisp you can use a lip brush or you can use a Q-tip with makeup remover afterwards and/or apply skin color around the mout afterwards. When I want to do that I tend to use the Chromagraphic Pencil in NC 15/NW 20. But all those tricks were mostly not necessary.

In a nutshell: Indigo-Go was slightly better than Deep With Envy, but I can recommend both.

And now someone save me from purchasing more of these, argh. To my knowledge the Colour Rocker Collection is limited edition, although the MACista I was talking to said she wouldn’t be surprised if some of them stayed or came back later.

2 thoughts on “MAC Colour Rocker: Indigo-Go, Deep With Envy

  1. Good idea about using eye liners for lip liners – would have never thought of that. I just can’t do blue or green lipsticks… I mean, I don’t even rock RED lipstick too often. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. with the eyeliner you just have to make sure it’s not a smudgy one. you don’t want a smokey look on your lip usually. 😄 unless you do of course.
      colored lips is something you just fall into after a while. when I started this blog I wasn’t wearing red lips at all. green does look really weird though, I just bought it for the giggles.

      Like

Leave a Reply

