Guerlain Mon Guerlain

Guerlain Mon Guerlain

You have probably seen ads for the newest Guerlain release already: Mon Guerlain EdP. It comes in the classic Quadrilobe bottle and should be available everywhere Guerlain is sold at. And it’s not a flanker! I had to try it.

People are saying it smells similar to the now discontinued Mon Exclusif. I haven’t smelled that one so I can’t say for sure, but mentioning it just so you know.

Mon Guerlain starts off with fresh bregamot; then it quickly morphs into a sweet scent. I sense a tiny relation to the blue LPRN, but less intense. Basically I feel like this is the sweetened Guerlinade with nothing much added. That probably means it’d make a good layering scent. It’s mostly vanilla and tonka bean and clean sweet jasmin. For a short while it smells simlar to Shalimar Souffle, but that one is airier, lighter and sweeter on the vanilla side. Mon Guerlain is more like caramel.

I’m going back and forth with this scent. It’s sweet and I’m not usually this big on sweet scents, but it’s just so cozy and yummy. Then again I realize I can have something similar with the dry down of Shalimar. In a way Mon Guerlain feels unfinished to me. Like they made the base and forgot to do the rest, then just added a quick head note of light bergamot. But it feels unfinished in such a cozy, yummy, lovely way. I might need a full bottle anyway…

It seems to stay closer to the body; I don’t think it’s a sillage bomb. I appreciate that – I still get flash backs from the one work colleague who blasted the whole floor with La Nuit Tresor and LVEB.

On me Mon Guerlain lasts exactly six hours. I have timed it and every time at exactly six hours it fades. 😄 However, opinions vary here. I have just received a text from a fellow parfumista friend who complains it smells good but is done after only five minutes. 😄

In short: try this if you want sweet, but not too fruity. Avoid if you want complicated stuff.

Leave a Reply

