essence long lasting lipstick natural beauty

essence long lasting lipstick natural beauty

Hello and welcome back to my blog! Firstly, new layout yay! Secondly I finally realized you have turn on the switch for mobile layout, oh my god. Sorry I thought that would happen automatically. If anyone is reading my blog from a mobile device, do you like the new setting or would you prefer the old one (mobile site identical to computer view)?

General blog blather aside, let’s talk about this lipstick.

es-nat

Like many of the other essence products you have been seeing lately on here, this was in my advent calendar. 🙂 It’s the long lasting lipstick in the color 07 Natural Beauty. Since the calendar had to be one size fits all they probably had to put in one of the neutral colors but I love it because it really does look great.

es-nat2

Swatch in direct sunlight. The color has no shimmer, but a creamy finish. It does not get matte and it doesn’t really dry down either, always staying a bit creamy.

es-nat1

Swatch in the shade.

So, in my opinion this pinkish nude is a real winner colorwise because it goes with pretty much everything while not being too light in color. Many nude lipsticks are too pale for my personal taste (and let’s not forget how freaking pale I am. I don’t know how people with darker skin pull these off?). But the color of Natural Beauty is lovely and will work for a bigger range of skin tones, too. 🙂

On to the not so good stuff: They have the gall to call this long lasting? I really don’t want to see their non long lasting lipstick are, then, because this one here survives barely two hours without eating or drinking. Half an hour, if you have a cup of tea when wearing it. Like I mentioned, it is not matte and doesn’t really settle down. On the upside I did not notice it collecting in lip lines or migrating outside the lips – but that’s probably because it just doesn’t last long enough to do that!

The smell of it is also god awful. Cheap lipstick smell up the max.

If you can live with frequent reapplications and the smell it is a very nice color, though.

Leave a Reply

