Balmain Ivoire

Balmain Ivoire

balmain-i

Hello, lovelies! Today I want to talk about Ivoire EdP by Balmain. This is the version released in 2012. There’s an older Ivoire, a vintage so to say, but the new one is not just a reformulation. Consider these comepletely different perfumes!

Now, how does this one smell? I find it hard to pin down. It’s one of the more complex perfumes, in that everytime you wear it you discover something new. The one theme I always get is galbanum, though. It is strong from the start through the heart and gets gentler in the base. If you don’t know what that smells like, think of dry green. Then there is some cool powderyness that hints towards Iris.

Ivoire is a scent of opposites. There are some more flowers in it, but it never really turns into a flowery perfume for me. There is some sweetness to it, especially in the base, yet it never turns into a sweet perfume.

It seems aloof from afar, yet it clings to the skin and hugs you (a mix of vetiver and patchouli, maybe?). I think the heart is mostly ylang-ylang, but again it’s subtle.

All of this might make it sound like Ivoire is just a weak perfume with little sillage but it is the opposite. It holds up pretty well and lasts about six hours on me. It’s just so hard to describe the notes because it’s such a perfect blend to me.

balmain-ingr

List of ingredients (click to enlarge).

So, in my opinion Ivoire is absolutely worth a try. I could never wear it (or any perfume) every day but it feels so good switching from a heavy vanilla perfume to this and back. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Balmain Ivoire

  1. Oh I have been so intrigued by this one! The bottle is stunning, too. OK, I gotta get this in my next FragX order. I already love a few Balmains – wish they’d re-release a few of them properly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

