MAC Invite Intrigue

MAC Invite Intrigue

mac-invite

Shown up here is MAC lipstick in Invite Intrigue (matte). To be honest I completely lost track of MAC releases so I can’t tell you if this was a limited release or a permanent one, sorry. If it was limited, I’m sure it’ll be back sometime.

mac-inviteswatch

2016 is the year I went crazy for this pink/purple color. I bought way too many similar lipsticks, but at least I also wear the hell out of them. I’m so used to it, at some point I thought to myself, today I’ll do a subtle makeup, and while thinking this I was smearing Invite Intrigue on. 😄 Then I was like, whoops.

So, the lipstick is matte, typical MAC matte. There is no shimmer. The color is intense and it’s either a pink leaning purple or a blue leaning magenta. Let’s see some comparisons:

mac-comparison-swatches

So here we have Invite Intrigue, Maybelline Magnetic Magenta, which is lighter and pinker. Last is Estee Lauder Stronger, which is slightly darker. Then, as I really wasn’t sure about this, I made a thin line with Stonger atop of Invte Intrigue. They are pretty close, but it seems this depends on the light, because I also made this swatch comparison here:

arianacomp

And here I see more of a difference between Invite Intrigue and Stronger. (And yes the pink one here is Invite Intrigue and not the Maybelline one! I always snap a pic of the lipstick bullet before doing a swatch.)

Anyway, you probably don’t need both Invite Intrigue and Stronger. 😄

The quality of the lipstick is great, it holds on really well to the skin. It’s drying though.

mac-invite-lip

Lip swatch.

If you wanted to use a liner with it, I think the MAC Heroine liner works, since it is pinker than the Heroine lipstick.

tl;dr: good lipstick, if not exactly unique.

2 thoughts on “MAC Invite Intrigue

Leave a Reply

