All Used Up August 2016

All Used Up August 2016

September is almost over, but I don’t wanna lump all my empties together – the post would get too long, so here is what I used up last month:

img_4208

Firstly, the Jil Sander Simply body lotion. I love the perfume; the body lotion lacks the opening and pretty much goes straight to the base – musk, patchouli, something woody, leather. It’s delicious! When I started using this, for days I’d walk past my bathroom and go, what is this amazing smell? And finally I’d sniff at my bathrobe and realize the body body lotion had rubbed off. XD Apart from smelling great on its own, it also supports the perfume and makes it more intense. It doesn’t do much else though, don’t expect much moisture or anything.

Secondly I used up Clarins Mission Perfection Serum. This is supposed to help with age spots and such. The liquid comes out orange, but applies colorless, so it doesn’t do any color correction. There’s also small shimmer particles in it. I don’t have the list of ingredients for it, but I don’t think this did much for my skin. Would not buy a full size.

img_4212

Ingredients for body lotion. Click picture to make it bigger.

img_4202

Sisley Self Tanning Hydrating Facial Skin Care. Well, that’s a mouthful. This was a pretty generous sample of a self tanner that lasted almost for a full month. I used this after my serum; there was no need for additional moisturizer. Years ago I tried out some self tanning products, found them all terrible and finally came to terms with my natural skin color. I gotta say, this Sisley product if really much better than what I had before. It did not get patchy (except on those days where I went sloppy and applied too much) and the tanner smell is much less annoying than I thought it would be.

I started out as NC15 and went up to NC20 with this. But I had to apply it two nights in a row, then skip a night, rinse and repeat. If I used it every night I’d get too orange. So in theory you could get even darker. After a while I stopped using it all over and applied it like I would a liquid bronzer – top of the cheek bones, bridge of the nose etc. This way I could blend the edges nicely and look great even when I was completely makeup-free.

The product needs to be applied every other day to keep the color. After three nights without, the color was gone.

img_4204

Ingredients.

pro: really good | contra: full product is very expensive

Might buy a full size one day should I ever decide I need a self tan.

And that closes my empties for the month of August. I’ve already used up quite a few products in September so I can tell you there’s going to be a couple of Biotherm items next. 🙂

2 thoughts on “All Used Up August 2016

    1. oh no! I thought they were distributed world-wide since the brand is owned by Coty now. 😦 I have testers of almost the whole lineup and am working through them slowly. Most are meh, but there are some gems.

      Like

Leave a Reply

