Elie Saab Le Parfum

Elie Saab Le Parfum

Let’s start the week with a perfume review for once. Because this one here is a pick me up perfume and sometimes, that’s exactly what you need on a monday morning.

Elie Saab

This review is for Elie Saab Le Parfum EdP, the original so to say. There’s a also a few flankers to this perfume. But the one I’m reviewing was the first Le Parfum, released in 2011. Perfumers are Francis Kurkdjian and Takasago.

Now, how does it smell? I get mostly orange blossom and jasmin, those two flowers in a honeyed base. This perfume is pretty intense. If you dislike either orange blossom or jasmine, this one is probably not for you. If you do, it’s certainly worth a try.

When I test perfume for a review I wear it several days in succession. Usually I would wear something different every day. So while I was testing Le Parfum I noticed that it got less and less intense each day. I don’t mean the lasting power, although the noticeble phase of the perfume was only about three hours for me – I mean I smelled less of it each day. I got nose blind to it. I think, because this one is so intense my brain just tuned it out after a while. I think it lasts much longer than I noticed. Sometimes six or seven hours after application I would catch a whiff of orange blossom from somewhere. So the lasting power seems to be good, but you can’t smell it yourself anymore (at least I can’t). This makes Le Parfum more a special occasion perfume than a signature perfume. Wearing it too often might lead to over application; stinking up the whole place while not even smelling the result.

This was only my personal experience, of course. These things are highly subjective. Overall, I like the Le Parfum, but might like it better if it was dosed more gently. 🙂 And this is what I meant with it being a pick me up perfume. Sometimes you need subtle. Sometimes you need to go all out for a day and that’s when Le Parfum shines.

 

Dear reader, I am writing this on sunday evening. Usually I try to prepare three posts on sunday to go out during the week but I had no time. Sorry. I will be back with more posts next week.

2 thoughts on “Elie Saab Le Parfum

  1. I adore this one, particularly the opening. Got a full bottle with my Shoppers Drug Mart points, yay! It turns a little weird on me, though. But I can’t give up the first 20 min or so, lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

