All Used Up July 2016

All Used Up July 2016

While I didn’t blog a lot in July, I did manage to use up quite a few products:

IMG_4102

Elizabeth Arden Flawless Future Caplet Serum: As you can see, there are still capsules left in the bottom, but they were impossible to get out. The serum is colorless with white balls floating in it. When you pump them out, they combine into a shimmery white substance. There is a lot of mica in it and it is very visible in the face. Sadly, the mica has exactly the right size to settle in pores and enhance them.

From what I can tell, this serum is very moisturizing and enhances the effect of other products layered on top. So I used this and then put my BHA serum on top. I didn’t use this serum on its own. It didn’t have any adverse effects in my face, but I can’t say if it had any positive effects either. Due to the glitter I wouldn’t buy a full size. I prefer my shimmer to come in form of highlighters, where I can control where they go.

IMG_3692

List of ingredients. Click pic to enlarge.

IMG_4009

Next up: Douglas Beauty System Sea Thalasso Shower Gel. I used to have a matching body lotion, but ran out much sooner. Despite the hints of Sea Thalasso in the name, this does not smell salty or anything. It smells heavenly of neroli. I love it, real good scent. I don’t even know if this is still being sold though. It often takes me so long to use things up because I switch around.

IMG_4008

List of ingredients.

IMG_4003

Biotherm Aquasource Cream: I’m pretty sure I had this before. It’s just a rich cream wth the nice fresh smell that Biotherm often uses. I don’t have the packaging with the ingredients anymore, sorry. The cream is nice, but nothing special.

IMG_3989

La Roche Posay Anthelios AC SPF 30: a mattifying sun protection for the face. Alcohol is fairly high in the list, so I would not buy a full size for myself. When I use alcohol on my skin and then go into the sun I get big angry red spots. The cream proteced well from sun rays, though. At least I didn’t get sunburn. The cream left a visible white cast on me.

IMG_3880

Douglas Naturals face cream day with argan oil: You can tell it’s a “natural” cream by the smell: typical essential oils smell. Nasty if you ask me. The cream was bad, it simply didn’t want to sink in or distribute evenly. I think I also broke out from it (it’s hard to say exactly, but I had been acne free for a long time until that point). Avoid, avoid!

IMG_3912

The Body Shop Honeymania lip balm: This is a huge pot of lip balm and I gotta admit, it went bad before I could use it up, so it had to go. Back when it was still good, it had a lovely smell of fake honey and a waxy texture that protected lips nicely.

IMG_3906

Lush Helping Hands: a hand cream with light texture that sunk it quickly – no waiting time until you can use your smart phone again. 🙂 For my dry hands it works in summer, but in winter I need something richer. I didn’t love the smell, but it wasn’t bad either.

IMG_3884

Two perfume samples: Simply Jil Sander – a favorite of mine, review here.

And Lolita Lempicka Eau de Parfum: Sadly there are many Lempickas with similar names. I think this is the usual one, with the light purple bottle. I like it quite a bit. It smelled of cherry candy and liquorice. It smelled a bit dusty and light at the same time, like a young girl wearing an old dress. Quirky. Sadly, as far as I can tell, Lempicka aren’t sold in stores in Austria anymore and online retailers only have a few leftovers of this particular perfume.

IMG_3876

Lee Stafford Poker Straight for Oily Roots Dry Shampoo: This is the white variant (I had to give away my brown colored one after I went blond, haha). I like this, it works well. The smell could be a bit less intense for me (since I prefer smelling of my chosen perfume and not of my hair products) but the scent itself is okay. I have already repurchased this.

IMG_3860

Louis Widmer 50+ Extra Sun Fluid: This is one of my favorite sun products. The protection factor is high, there is no alcohol in the formula and no perfume. It leaves a slight white cast on the skin, but not very bad. The texture is not mattifying, it left me with a glow. But personally, I like that. Mattifying products often make  my skin too dry. The texture is very runny. Biggest downside: only 100 ml of product and not very cheap. Haven’t repurchased so far, but I might because it’s really good. I also tried the SPF 30, but that one had alcohol in it and my skin reacted badly.

IMG_3863

List of ingredients.

And, that’s it. Quite a list for one month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

