My MAC Chris Chang haul

My MAC Chris Chang haul

DSC01692

I skipped a few MAC Collections but I knew I needed some items from the Chris Chang Collection. Sadly, as it often happens with MAC LEs, some of the things I wanted were already sold out. Int he end I picked up four items, two eye shadows and two cream color bases.

DSC01695

These are the pretty pots.

DSC01698

The colors are: Sock-it-Xiqu (cream color base), Electric Mandarin (eye shadow), Royal Woo (eye shadow), and Peony Pavillian (cream color base)

The MAC MUA said you can use the cream color bases for everything and showed me how she used it as a base underneath powder eye shadow. However I wish to point out that there is a slip of paper in the packaging that says both cream color bases should not be used on eyes or lips. To be honest I only discovered that paper after I had already used both on my lips and so far I suffered no ill effects. But still this might be something you’d like to know. I haven’t tried the cream color bases on my lids because they are really very creamy and I have oily lids.

Chris Chang swatches

The colorful swatches! LtR: Electric Mandarin, Royal Woo, Peony Pavillion, Sock-it-Xiqu

Both eyeshadows claim to be matte, but the orange one contains some shimmer. You can see it in the pan, but not really when applied. The cream color bases have no shimmer, but never quite dry down, so they always look a little glossy.

I am very happy with the pigmentation of all of these. I skipped the turquoise eye shadow because it seemed less pigmented. The pink shadow and the orange cream color base also looked real good. Sadly, the yellow and the turquoise lipstick were so sheer. I’m waiting for some more pigmented releases there.

I have worn both cream color bases as blush and as a stain on the lips. Sock-it-Xiqu is very pale. It works as a blush on me (NC13) but might be too light for most. It also worked on my lips but only for a statement look. I lasts all day on my cheeks, and three hours on my lips.

Peony Pavillion is sooo great! It looks like a simple pink, but it’s really quite intense, amost neon when worn. But it still blends out so well on my cheeks that most peple couldn’t even tell I was wearing something. It looked like I had a strong flush, haha. On the lips it lasted about four hours. It creeps into lines because it’s so creamy, but it can be gotten out again by rubbing the lips together. It leaves a light stain on the lips.

Both eye shadows apply really well. They are pigmented and fairly easy to put on (with a patting motion, mind you). I used a normal colorless primer. They are so pigmented I didn’t really feel the need for a white base. The orange has lasted on my upper lids for about eight to nine hours, the yellow a little less. But I was testing them in warm and humid weather. I also used them on my lower lids with neutral shadows on top, which is the more casual way to wear them and they lasted even longer there.

I am happy with these and would buy them all again. I apologize for getting this review out so late, and you may not be able to get them anymore. But hopefully, there will be re-releases of these colors sometime.

4 thoughts on “My MAC Chris Chang haul

Leave a Reply

