Zoeva Rose Golden Palette

Zoeva Rose Golden Palette

Zoeva Rose Golden

I had to fight for this palette, it was constantly sold out: Zoeva Rose Golden. People said ‘if you like their brushes, try their makeup’, so I did. 🙂

Zoeva Rose Golden back

The packaging is cardboard and copper colored. This color has been very hot in the last couple years. I blame instagram.

Zoeva RG

The colors! On the very top you get the contour powder shade, Heavy Crown. Next the highlighter, Glowing Still, and last is the blush shade Palace Door. By the way I wore this to see Huntsman: Winter’s War, which I guess was very fitting. Although I wore this every day since I got it, so that wasn’t planned. I also wore it to Marvel’s Civil War, which is sooo good, like omg.

Ahem. Let’s take a look at the swatches:

Zoeva RG swatches

Heavy Crown is non-shimmery and cool toned, like a contour shade should be (as opposed to bronzer which would be warmer). It is also very light. Don’t let the swatch fool you, this is unblended on my very pale wrist.

Glowing Still is very shimmery. The powder is white, but the shimmer is yellow golden. Blended out on the face the white goes invisible and you are left with a very intense yelow gold shimmer. I repeat, the shimmer is not white or silver! The highlight is very strong, good for a strobing look.

Palace Door is the rose golden shade of the palette. It is very shimmery, to the point where if your skin tone is dark enough, this could be used as a highlighter instead. The shade itself is more coppery, the shimmer is mostly golden. But here, the base color and the shimmer are so fine that they become one.

Overall I am a bit confused by the colors:

  • The contour is so light it will only work on the really pale gals (NC 15 or lighter), so yay a contour for the really pale ones!
  • The highlight on the other hand is so yellow! If this were a palette for the really light gals, I’d think it would be white pearl. However, this highlighter looks actually really good on me when I do a warmer look. This is for the golden Chalize Theron, not the silvery Emily Blunt (I may have watched this movie strictly for the makeup…). Also, this highlighting shade will look absolutely amazing on every skin tone! I bet the lovely Motsi Mabuse wears something like this, too.
  • And then, there’s the blush, which is not only very shimmery, but also not too dark on the face. It ends up looking almost taupey, by which I mean, more brown than rose color comes out. In fact, minus the shimmer, the color looks really natural on my skin (NC13!).
  • Sooo, sadly there is the possibility that at least one shade in this will be too light or too dark for you personally.

That was the colors. The quality of the powders is top-notch, though. They are finely milled, buttery, blend easily. For the blush, depending on how shimmery you want it, you’ll have to apply it with a light hand. And then, as I was applying it for the first time with a not so light hand and it turned out soooo shimmery on my cheeks I thought, this looks totally like an eyeshadow.

And so I got my eye brushes out and started playing. These totally work for eyshadow, all three of them. A primer is a must, but with primer they last for eight hours without creasing. With a shimmery base the blush color really goes all out. It’s a lot less sheer than the Maybelline blushed nudes for example. You’d never believe it was meant to go on cheeks. With a matte base, you dampen the shimmer content. The highlight makes a good eye highlight as well. The contour shade is too light to cut the crease with it. I use it for blending out, mostly. I also wore it all over the lid on its own for a subtle (veeeery subtle) no makeup makeup look. Gosh if only the contour was a bit stronger I would call this the most perfect palette on earth.

Overall, this is super versatile and I am so glad I got it. I’ve been wearing it everday, on cheeks or eyes or both. My suggestion is they should make a pale and dark version of this. I would buy them all.

Leave a Reply

