Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita

Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Pera Granita

DSC01489

The 2016 release of Guerlain‘s Aqua Allegoria line is Pera Granita. It’s a fruity floral with light pink juice. And the fruit is pear. Admittedly, that made me sceptic. However, I can say it really won me over, prejudice be damned.

It opens with grapefruit, but not zesty like Pampelune. This is more pink grapefruit, fresh and lovely. Then there’s more fruitiness and soft flowers. I can’t say the pear note is dominant. In fact, I can only sometimes make out pear and that might be my imagination. So if you were interested specifically because of the pear note, this might be disappointing. Personally, I am no fan of a pear note, so I am okay with how it plays out.

An hour in the orange blossom comes out. Now, I make no secret of it, I love orange blossom. It’s awesome. This isn’t a strong orange blossom that kills everything in its wake, though. It’s light and gentle. The whole scent is light and gentle in my opinion, although my mum claims she could smell me through the whole house. So it has quite some sillage.

Since it’s a light footed one all through, sadly it doesn’t have a lot of staying power. I didn’t catch much of a base. I’ve already used up my samples for this test sniffing because I kept adding more. When I caught the orange blossom for the first time, I was sure I was going to buy a full bottle. Now I wonder if I am willing to pay the price for a bottle of perfume that is lovely, but with little staying power. Maybe if I find it on sale…

Overall, though it’s one of the best fruity florals. Not too generic, nor too intense!

Aqua Allegorias still being sold in 2016:

Herba Fresca | Limon Verde | Mandarine Basilic | Pampelune | Pera Granita | + one travel exclusive

Discontinued: last year’s release Teazurra, Nerolia Bianca, and sadly, Lys Soleia didn’t make the cut. 😦

Leave a Reply

