Paco Rabanne Olympéa

Paco Rabanne Olympéa

Olympea

Today’s Friday Fragrance is Olympéa EdP by Paco Rabanne. It was released in 2015 as a female fragrance to accompany Invictus.

Just like Invictus, Olympea has a strong sour note. They call it a salted vanilla in the notes list, but to me, the sour note is unconnected to the vanilla note. The vanilla comes in the base, but the screechy sour note is there from the beginning to the bitter end. Well, actually the ending is vanilla and white musk, but you get it. In the middle there are some watery flowers.

The vanilla keeps this one from getting too close to toilet cleaner, but it still smells like washing detergent. Sorry, I mean I tried to get what others see in it, but it never pulls together for me.

Olympea2

Olympea has similarities to Thierry Mugler’s Womanity, but while I don’t find Womanity all that wearable either, at least it is consequential and doesn’t try to soften down.

I’m seeing several perfumes cropping up with that weird sour-screechy note, so it might be the new trend, the anti-thesis to the too sweet perfumes that were all the rage in the last few years. Maybe I’ll come around to this note in time. In the meantime, I can’t see an olympic goddess wearing something like Olympea, except it has the same metal and blood connotation as Invictus, so a goddess of war, maybe.

4 thoughts on “Paco Rabanne Olympéa

    1. it should be easy to get a sample if you want to test. they were practically throwing them at me. XD
      I tested Womanity at the store a while ago but could not see myself wearing it. I agree on the name and the bottle, and yeah. I don’t need everything. Although sometimes I think of it and giggle. They called it womanity and it smells fishy, hahaha…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

