Paco Rabanne Invictus

Paco Rabanne Invictus

invictus

For my last Fragrance Friday before the Holidays I chose apopular male perfume: Paco Rabanne Invictus EdT.

Invictus opens with a strong sour note. It’s not bergamot, it might be grapefruit, though. Then it gets salty, these are the promised marine notes. The woodsy notes set in about an hour or two later, but they’re never really strong. This is not a woody perfume, it’s a marine, salty one.

So. For my reviews I do a few days of testing, not just day of wear. And I must admit on day one I only smelled salty and sour and chemical. Like a blue toilet cleaner. At no point did it ever get remotely sweet (some women claim Invictus smells sweet???) And to be honest on the other days of testing it did not smell any different.

DSC01141

However, while wearing it and letting my thoughts drift I was inspired by the name and the laurel note it has somewhere underneath the blue toilet cleaner. The name reminded me of C. Iulius Ceasar and how much I hated that guy in school (he is a terrible writer yet they always start teaching latin with him). Anyway, that in turn made me think of a centurion, you know, sweat, metal, blood, laurels so I guess the people at Paco Rabanne did know what they were doing with the branding here. And for that little day dream I have to conclude this perfume is well made (perfumers are Véronique Nyberg, Anne Flipo, Olivier Polge, and Dominique Ropion).

It still smells like a centurion rolled in blue toilet cleaner.

And if you’ll excuse me, I have to go watch the Eagle now (Channing Tatum!). Again.

Leave a Reply

