Current Skin Care Routine

Current Skin Care Routine

Over the last year I have rehauled my skin care routine. I was going to say “simplified”, but looking at the amount of products in my picture, maybe not. XD I have decided to go as gentle as possible, no harsh washing gels, less alcohol and irritating fragrance, more chemical peeling.

Skin 1

Cleansing

This means I cut out all the mechanical peelings and washing gels. Even the supposedly gentle one I used still irritated my skin (you can tell by how right after washing the skin will be tight and dry and about half an hour to an hour later the skin is oilier than before washing). So that left my cleansing milk Toleriane from La Roche Posay (I use this on makeup free skin only, even if it says it can remove makeup, it’s not very good at it); the Micellar Cleanser from Garnier; and for waterproof makeup the dual phase Camomille cleanser from the Body Shop. That one is okay, but I think when it’s used up I’ll go for another brand.

Skin 2

Moisture

Next step after cleansing is to add moisture back. I do not use any toner at the moment. I ran out (years ago, in fact) and realized I didn’t miss it. So I go right to moisture. You probably heard of Korean skin care by now, and how they layer like half a million products over each other. When I read about that I was like ‘that’s too much work’ but these days I do often use quite a few layers as well. In the midle of the pic you see MAC Fix+. You often see it mentioned that people spray this on after makeup, and the description on the bottle says it can be used before and after makeup. A look at the ingredients list tells me it’s made of water and some antioxidants – and nothing else. So while you can apply as last layer, the water will simply evaporate and might leave you drier than before. But when used as first layer and then locked in with heavier products, the moisture stays on the skin and the antioxidants can do their work. So when I use Fix+, I do it immediately on clean skin.

Then I start layering eye cream and lip balm (not pictured). My current eye cream is a cheap one from Balea, it has no bad ingredients (as far as I could tell) and a few antioxidants.

The moisturizer is Clinique Moisture Surge. It’s a light gel that, well it does exactly what the name promises. I will always use this when my skin is visibly dry, but at the moment I don’t use it every day. I use different serums (not pictured) and often don’t put anything on top of those. If I wanted to use both a serum and Moisture Surge I will layer the thicker texture over the lighter one.

Skin 4

Sun Care

The morning routine usually goes like this: cleansing, Fix+ and Sun care on top. When I wear makeup it’s usually MAC CC Cream with SPF 30. It’s the best option if I want to put something on top. My other options are a mattifying sun cream (not pictured) which leaves my skin super dry if I use it more than two days in a row and the two bottles on here: La Roche Posay Rosaliac UV Legere, a great cream with lots of Niacinamide (a form of Vitamin B3 and one of the best skin care ingredients ever) and SPF 15. The cream is slightly green tinted, but applied I don’t really see any difference. However, this one isn’t really good for wearing underneath makeup, as it has a greasy finish. No amount of powder helps here. So sadly despite this being really good for my skin I only wear it when I go makeup-less.

And the last bottle is my all over sun care: Louis Widmer 50+ Extra Sun Fluid. I wanted one without any alcohol or fragrance and there were not too many offerings. This one can be used for the body and face, however when I wear it with makeup I get a similarly shiny finish as with the Rosaliac.

Skin 3

Extras

These are the extra helpers. I don’t use them daily. The small grey bottle is the Kanebo Sensai Cellular Performance Mask. This is a colorless mask that you can either take off again or wear over night. It gives the skin extra moisture. As this is a smaller size I don’t have a list of the ingredients but I hope they’re not too bad. I use this only when my skin is flaky and often only on the dry parts of my face.

La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo+: Chemical Peeling with Salicylic Acid and Capryloyl Salicylic Acid. I have found that for me it works best used every other day. It makes pores appear smaller (by getting the gunk out) and helps with spots.

La Roche Posay Cicaplast: For any kind of emergency, be it extremely dry and reddenend skin or huge spots or whatever else might happen.

And last is Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions mask, a white clay mask with Salicylic Acid. I use this whenever I feel like it, not too often.

So far the regime works out very well for me. In the future I want to be even more diligent about suncscreen and I’d like to add retinol at some point.

Do you have any tips? What are your go-to ingredients?

2 thoughts on “Current Skin Care Routine

Leave a Reply

