Blog Tour Award

Blog Tour Award

blog-tour-award

I was nominated to do the Blog Tour Award by fivezero.  Thank you 🙂

Blog Tour Award Rules:

  • Pass the tour on up to four other bloggers.
  • Give your nominees the rules and a specific Monday to post (please post your story on Monday, June 15, 2015).
  • Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.

The Questions:

How does my work differ from others in my genre?

I like to think I’m quirky and very honest. Most of the time my interests run more along the scientific side than the artist side, so I’m more likely to post reviews than tutorials. I like to try things on myself, observe what happens and write down the results. But as always, results on only one person aren’t exactly quantifiable, just anecdotes.

I am also very picky on what I write about and like being independent. I’m not saying I’d never do cooperations, because sometimes I do, but I keep that low.

How does my writing/creative process work?

I have vague ideas for posts in my head. Like, always. I’ve had them for over a year before I started this blog. I always have more ideas than what I get around to do, so we’re not likely to run out of content soon. But then I usually get distracted by some shiny new thing and decide to review that first. I’m pretty much always ‘testing’ several things at once.

Next, the pictures. I have no good lamps, so I need sunlight. When there’s light I shoot the pics for several posts at once. Then I sometimes crop the pictures but never alter them otherwise. I like them to be raw. I upload them. Then, usually not on the same day I write the posts and queue them up. I only have time to work on the blog on weekends so I usually do one week in advance. I have no set order of posts. I do them in whatever order I feel like and sometimes it takes weeks to make a post to already existing pictures.

Gosh, I’m sorry that doesn’t sound very creative does it? But I’m always inspired, it’s more the technical work (and the time) that is the problem…

Why do I write or create what I do?

As I’ve already mentioned I thought about writing down my thoughts in a blog for over a year. I thought the world didn’t need any more bloggers but since I was still interested in doing it after that year I decided to at least try. The majority of it is meant to help me remember (like the All Used Up Posts are mostly there to help me decide what to buy and what not to buy in the future) but I’m tickled silly that there are other people who want to read them, too!

What I’m working on at the moment?

This weekend I finish testing the new Clinique Pop lipsticks, the post will go up on Wednesday. At the same time I am going through perfume releases. I always need to wear them more than once, so I don’t know when the posts will be ready, but next up should be Roberto Cavalli Paradiso and Cartier La Panthere Legere. I am also vaguely planning posts about sun care, hair removal, how to make lipstick really stay and maybe a where to shop in Austria. But those are like super vague and pictureless, so I don’t know if I’ll ever do them. If you’re interested, please tell me.

I am nominating the following bloggers for the next round:

prettyhonestbeautyblog

Say Hello To Gorgeous

The Makeup Cupboard

MaSucree’s Makeup Musings

 

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour Award

  1. It’s so refreshing to hear that you put so much planning into your blog posts!

    I can’t wait for your Clinique Color Pop Lipstick review. I have had my eye on them 🙂 Thanks for the link back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

