Dior Pure Poison (Vintage)

Dior Pure Poison (Vintage)

Ten years ago the Dandygal was a different person. For example, I had no clue how to put on makeup and saw no point in any other color besides black. Also, I never expected to own more than maybe three perfumes in total. That was true up until last year, when I discovered the term ‘perfume wardrobe’. Why have a signature perfume when you can have one for every sweater you own? But back to the topic at hand, ten years ago I decided to get myself a perfume. I had owned perfume before, but never purchased one for myself. Everything I had before were presents. I thought this time I was going to get the one perfect perfume for me and I took my time choosing. Then I settled on this one:

IMG_2459

pictured: Pure Poison by Dior, old packaging.

I had no clue what notes it smelled like, only that there was nothing else quite like it. So for a year or two I was fumigating the place with Pure Poison, then I decided that maybe it wasn’t quite everyday appropriate and started going through samples I had lying about instead. And somehow, I forgot to wear Pure Poison. It was there, up on my book shelf and I liked looking at it, but didn’t use it. And after a while, I was afraid of using it. People say perfume goes bad in two years, what if it’s ruined??? What if I don’t like it anymore? I was a teen when I chose it, what if my taste was terrible?

And then last month I said to hell with it, fished it out of the packaging and sprayed it on. And it was just as good as I remembered. 😀

So what does it smell like? It’s a big flowery one, but not sweet like gourmands (like Flowerbomb or Hypnotic Poison). It has Jasmin and Neroli and Gardenia and some more. I think it’s mostly Neroli, although I’m not so good at telling flowers apart yet. (Neroli is made of blossoms of the bitter orange tree, just like ‘orange blossom’ but differently processed btw. Please tell me I wasn’t the only one who didn’t know that.)

Be warned that I bought this when I was still in my vampire phase. Pure Poison always felt like someone had put out a lot of flowers to mask the smell of decay, like there was something ugly hidden beneath the beauty. These thoughts of mine were probably influenced by the marketing and name, haha. Interesting thing about marketing anyway, while I had compared and tested and such, in the end I settled for a new release that was prominently displayed. XD (Pure Poison was released in 2004.)

So, why did I call it ‘vintage’ when it’s barely a decade old? First off, the packaging is different now (the stopper is purple, making it a reversal of ‘Poison’), but the comments on forums and such tell me the formula has been tampered with also, so I can’t guarantee that the stuff in stores smells like what I have here. 😦 I have not dared to spray it on in stores and compare yet. What if they ruined the wonderful poison? So this is strictly a story about the old, ‘vintage’ Pure Poison.

IMG_2461

Bottom of the bottle. It looks like something befitting a Faerie queen.

I hope I will not run out of this beauty for a long time, but since it’s not exactly the kind of perfume to drench yourself in (like with Alien, the dosage makes the Poison) I’m not worried.

And this was the story of me and my first chosen perfume. Should you ever get to see the white bottle with white stopper be sure to sniff. You’ll either love it or hate it. 😀

Pure Poison is a flanker of Poison. It was created by Carlos Benaïm, Dominique Ropion and Olivier Polge.

4 thoughts on “Dior Pure Poison (Vintage)

Leave a Reply

