Thierry Mugler Alien

Thierry Mugler Alien

IMG_1223

It’s been a whole year since I received this cute little bottle of Alien EdP. That gave me a nice long testing period plus time to read up on other people’s reviews. There is a noticable geological rift in the perception of this perfume: people in the US seem to not like it, while people in Europe view it more favorably? (With exceptions on both sides of course.) For statistical reference: dear reader, which continent are you on and what is your opinion on Alien?

Notes: floral (jasmine), woody, amber

Alien EdP was created by Dominique Ropion and Laurent Bruyere

Some people say ‘ok, that’s too much jasmine’. I say ‘there is no such thing as too much jasmine’. Signed, Dandygal, known hoarder of jasmine tea. But even I can’t deny this alien can be pretty intense when applied too much. But in proper dosage, what’s not to love? The jasmine is dark but not really dirty. (I cannot detect indole in Alien. One day I might tell you about the highly indolic jasmine spray in the bathroom of my workplace. Well I guess I just did. I think the spray is an olfactoric joke.)

Lasting power is good and sillage is medium to strong. Two more reasons for application in small doses.

Apart from the fact that I like it, my first thought upon opening that small bottle up there was: I have smelled this a hundred times. Alien is always among the 10 most sold perfumes of the year in my country. Lots of people wear it. So yes, my positive reaction might be due to familiarity. If you want something uncommon and edgy, alien is not the droid you’re looking for. I guess we are the aliens by now.

Some people report using Alien in high doses as olfactoric bomb and people repellant (maybe that’s what makes it a bestseller?). But honestly, I think the eldritch abomination that is Angel is much better suited to that. Alien is just the weirdo from next door, but Angel is an angel – the kind with six wings, three faces and eyes all over.

 

… this review has gotten away from me somehow. In other news, guess what I’ll be wearing on halloween?

Leave a Reply

