Recently smelled: Guerlain L’Homme Ideal and Narciso Rodriguez Narciso

Recently smelled: Guerlain L’Homme Ideal and Narciso Rodriguez Narciso

I received some very tiny samples in the mail, and decided they get a joint review.

IMG_2266

First off the new male fragrance by Guerlain, L’Homme Ideal EdT. The advertising tells us that, nope, the perfect man doesn’t exist, but his perfume does.

At first dab, I wasn’t all that impressed. It just had this regular, sorta fresh and slighly sharp opening. I was like, whatever, and went on with my day. An hour or half in, I suddenly thought, yep, that’s a Guerlain. It seemed so familiar. Reading up on the official notes, it must be the “amaretto” heart, based on tonka bean and almond. So after a while, this turns into a softly sweet scent, is what I’m trying to say. The longer I wore it, the more I liked it. The review over at Bois de Jasmin calls it the Petite Robe Noir for the man. And I agree. So is it the ideal man fragrance? If the lady you want to impress calls La Petite Robe Noir her favorite perfume, probably.

Personally, I think I’d rather keep it on myself. 😉 That or Dior Homme. If you like sweet scents, but find the female offerings way too cloying, try those two.

I almost forgot: lasting power is pretty good.

IMG_2267

List of ingredients, click to enlarge. L’Homme Ideal was created by Thierry Wasser.

The other perfume that fluttered into my house was Narciso EdP by Narciso Rodriguez:

IMG_2302

I don’t know how I can begin to describe this one. This is the fragrance Cara Delevigne will wear when getting gay married to lady of her choice. (Disclaimer: nobody’s getting gay married to Cara Delevigne. SO FAR.) What I mean is, this is incredibly sexy to me and at the same time makes me feel like I can rule the world. Yet I find it clean and elegant, not raunchy. What does it smell like? According to official notes list, rose, gardenia, vetiver, cedar and musk. I am not a big fan of rose, but I couldn’t really make it out here. Unofficial lists also include amber.

I think it’s not that dissimilar to L’Homme up there (notes are different, but the development is similar).

Longevity of Narciso is pretty good, lasts all day on my wrist.

IMG_2303

There was no ingredients list on Narciso, just the promo image. Might be the only time that I think promo image and scent match.

In a nutshell: I wish those samples had been bigger.

2 thoughts on “Recently smelled: Guerlain L’Homme Ideal and Narciso Rodriguez Narciso

Leave a Reply

