the Face Base

the Face Base

I almost named this entry “the bare necessities” but none of this is necessary, so I changed my mind. Anyway, this post is to show you my current base makeup routine. I have three stages of makeup:

1. None. Nada. I don’t mean “no makeup makeup”, I mean nothing on (except for sunscreen). This happens a lot more during summer, due to heat & laziness. My tips for that stage are: groom brows and dye eyelashes blue-black. I swear that makes so much difference! I gotta admit  I have been neglecting my poor brows, though.

2. BB Cream all over and done with it. Might add some rouge etc to create no makeup makeup.

3. The full base. When I want to look polished or the skin acts up. My current base items:

IMG_2228

In order of application:

MAC Prep & Prime Fortified Skin Enhancer in Pink. Mostly because I want to use it up. If I was doing a Project Pan, this would be one of the items.

MAC Mineralize Foundation Compact: Holy Grail item. Good coverage, long lasting, does not emphasize dry skin, but does not get shiny either.

MAC Studio Finish Concealer: Photoshop for the skin.

Clinique Airbrush Concealer: undereye concealer. I use this so much the writing has worn off. Coincidentally Lisa Eldridge mentioned this in her latest video and I agree so much. Why change something that works so well for you?

Flormar Brow Powder: Stays all day.

Sumita Brow Wax: This came in one of my last Glossyboxes before I unsubscribed. When I ran out of my brow gel I decided to use this. It’s good, but I think I prefer gel.

MAC Prep & Prime Eye: When I apply eyeshadow I’ll use either this or a cream shadow. This is the only real eye primer I own. I’m not 100% happy with it, but I haven’t yet gotten my hands on anything better. Suggestions?

(For my vacation makeup, I took the same items with me, except I replaced the foundation with Dior‘s BB Creme. I ended up not using the brow items even once.)

 

That’s it, that’s my face base. It’s quite MAC heavy, partly because there are some items that I’ll never replace (Studio Finish Concealer!), partly because some items are left over from the days when I was still learning my way around makeup (the primers, mostly. although it’s possible that after I use up the face primer, I’ll pick up the CC cream from MAC to replace it).

Which are your base items that you always have on hand?

2 thoughts on “the Face Base

  1. That MAC eye primer is one of the worst eye primers I have ever used! I own one and because I’m trying to finish it I’m using it on my face! That bad as an eye primer for me! I have oily lids btw.
    The best eye primers I have tried are Make Up For Ever’s eye prime and Catrice’s Prime and Fine eyeshadow base. Price-wise they are not that comparable, but they both work perfectly as eye primers. I have tried them in warm and humid weather.They do great job on my lids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

