Summer Favorites

Summer Favorites

Last year I did a “Spring Favorites” post and then dropped the ball on it. I’d like to pick it up again. Technically it is still spring, but depending on the weather it is  already warm enough to pull out all your summer things. (My apologies to everyone on the South Half who always gets these posts at the wrong time of the year.)

IMG_2026

Ta-da! These are my faithful summer helpers.

Top left, a pair of sunglasses. To be honest I wear sunglasses all year round, they are on the pic for the flair and because I couldn’t get a bikini to fit in the pic. I ruin about one pair of sunglasses a year; I am super clumsy when it comes to that. So I always buy cheap ones, I could not bear to throw a lot of money down this particular drain.

Underneath: sunscreen. It’s Sundance (a cheap brand available at DM) with SPF 30. But I don’t mean this particular sunscreen, any with SPF 30 will do. I can’t wear less because I burn easily, but in general more than SPF 30 is also not necessary. I read somewhere that SPF 30 blocks 97% of sun rays while SPF 50 blocks 98%. This in combination with the fact that SPF 50 is always more expensive and usually has a worse texture makes me reach for products in the SPF 30-35 range for everyday use. But since I am so pale I would reach for SPF 50 for a real holiday when I spend most of the day outside.

Then there’s a bottle of OPI nail polish in a very light shade, My Boyfriend Scales Walls. I like light shades when it’s very hot.This particular one is not white, it’s a very light grey but unless you put white next to it you can’t tell. It is easier to wear than pure white though.

For my makeup favorites, there is Chanel‘s Rouge Coco Shine in Pygmalion from last year’s summer collection. It’s a strong coral and the perfect texture for summer. Then Guerlain Crazy Terracotta from last year’s holiday collection. Yes, it was a winter collection, but I think it really shows its beauty when the sunlight hits the skin. (It’s less shimmery than the regular Terracotta powders.) Underneath alverde shimmering highlighter, from last year’s summer collection. It’s my current favorite liquid highlighter, it’s so easy to apply and gives off a lovely golden shimmer. And last, Becca Beach Tint in Papaya. This is a liquid rouge with gel texture. It’s claims to be waterproof, it smells nice and I find it pretty easy to put on cheeks. It can also be used on the lips, but there it seeps into the lines and dries out the skin, so I prefer to use the Chanel lipstick instead.

The yellow chapstick thing is also by Sundance and you can’t see it in this pic, but it’s SPF 50. This resides exclusively in my beach bag and I use it on my lips, but also my ears, nose, and around my eyes for touch ups. As a lip balm it’s pretty terrible, though.

And last but not least, my Soap & Glory Glow Lotion. While it could be used all year round, it would be pretty useless when you cover the body up anyway. So I mostly pull it out when it’s warm. I never get a proper tan, but when I put this on at least I can pretend I’m Galadriel or somehing. 😀

 

What are your “can’t live without” summer items?

10 thoughts on “Summer Favorites

  1. Love Beccas tints! Theyre actually coming out with a new collection with 4 different tints like one lip 1 cheek and 2 eye. It looks amazing!

    quirkybeauties.com

    Like

  2. I’ve been wearing a winter bronzer too! I try to keep a limit to how tan I get in the summer – which is weird considering how much I’m outside – and so I’m pale enough that Too Faced Snow Bunny works really well for me.

    Also, love that OPI polish. I have not been able to find a white polish that doesn’t look like I painted my nails with Wite-Out so maybe I’ll have to try that one.

    Like

    1. I’m trying to avoid any tans (or sunburns) because I’m prone to age spots. Terrible. Which sun screen do you use?

      Yes, pure white is harsh on nails. I like off whites and I think OPI has several, with good quality, too.

      Like

      1. I use Oil of Olay SPF 15 every day (as well as a BB cream that is SPF 30) and I have a variety of sweatproof spray-ons I use when I’m going to be sportsing outside. I also have a Neutrogena oil-free one that is SPF 55 that I use when I want heavy sun protection but don’t want to feel like I took a head-first dive into an oil slick.

        Which ones do you use?

        Like

        1. at the moment I only have the one shown up here and it’s running out. and I don’t know which to buy. the sundance ones aren’t sweatproof and that’s annoying. that’s why I’m asking everyone for their sunscren recs 😄

          Like

Leave a Reply

