My picks from the OPI 2013 Mariah Carey Holiday Collection

My picks from the OPI 2013 Mariah Carey Holiday Collection

Like the title says, I’ll show you the two polishes I picked up from OPI’s Mariah Carey Holiday Collection plus two more polishes I picked up.

But before that I want to show you the grainy pics I took when I was sorting my nail polish by shade.

IMG_1298

The two lines of shame: in the front my green and greenish polishes, in the back my grey and silver polishes. Looks like the start of an extensive collection, right?

IMG_1300

And this is the rest of my nail polish collection (minus two browns and two golds and like, one nude). I have a whole lot of similar corals, a few vampy reds (looking black here) and in the back, all my blues.

And that’s it! I have more grey than I can wear, but an absolute lack of true reds, no orange, no yellow, no black, no pink, no lilac! What a sad collection. So I put up a rule that basically says, no buying grey, silver and green. Everything else is go! (Therefore, my nail polish sorting backfired on me. I did it so I would buy less!)

 

Aaaaand this brings me to today, when I was checking out the OPI stand. I was really crazy about the last Mariah Carey Collection, not so much about this one. Maybe it was simply too big. I picked up the two I really wanted, the only other one I might want is Emotions, the black liquid sand.

IMG_1305

On top: Dior 694 Forget me not. This is from the spring 2012 collection, there was one lonely polish sitting around on the counter. And while it’s a typical spring color, it is a) lilac, which I don’t have and b) exactly the color of my winter coat. Planning to wear this all winter. This is my first ever Dior polish, I hope I like it.

Left to right: OPI You’re such a BudaPest from their Spring 2013 Collection Euro Centrale, a much lighter lilac leaning more towards blue, and from the current holiday collection: Ski Slope Sweetie, a white base with lots of golden shimmer, and Warm Me Up, a brownish charcoal with slightly frosty shimmer.No, this isn’t already violating my rles, because it looks way more brown than greyish in my opinon. 🙂

I guess red is just not my color, seeing as there are several in the collection and I still didn’t pick any. Same for soft pinks. Well, maybe I’ll pick some up from the next spring collections… #nailpolishproblems

How does your nail polish collection look? Do you keep on buying similar colors? Do you have a whole rainbow? Do you only have a few which you use all the time?

2 thoughts on “My picks from the OPI 2013 Mariah Carey Holiday Collection

Leave a Reply

