Summer Scents: Guerlain Aqua Allegoria

Summer Scents: Guerlain Aqua Allegoria

IMG_1909

The weather has done a sharp drop from too cold to very warm, and for me that means citrusy perfume! 🙂

I have a full size of Guerlain‘s Aqua Allegoria Pampelune, and a mini of Limon Verde. The mini (7,5 ml) came as a gift with purchase , the only size they can be purchased in is 75 ml.

IMG_1911

The juice in the little Limon Verde bottle has a green tint, while Pampelune has an orange tint.

Now, Guerlain Aqua Allegorias are supposed to be limited editions, it’s a good idea to never get too attached. However some, like Pampelune here, seem to sell very well, because it’s been around for years. Limon Verde is the newest addition. Aqua Allegoria is also supposed to be sort of an introduction to perfume, the scents are quite to the point.

So how do those two smell?

Limon Verde consists mostly of fig and lime, it pretty much smells like Caipirinha. I opened the bottle and went “like”. It’s perfect for hot days in my opinion. But! It only lasts about an hour, if even, and then it vanishes! 😦 That’s no good, I would not want to constantly reapply. I mean, I have a mini size I can easily take it with me, but that’s why I wouldn’t buy a full size. What a pity. It’s also a completely linear scent, there is no head, heart or base. It smells what it smells like (and then it vanishes, sob).

Pampelune, on the other hand. Pampelune is nothing short of perfect if you ask me. It does last properly, and it’s an explosion of grapefruit. What’s not to like here? Unless you dislike grapefruit, which apparently lots of people do. Well, I love it. Grapefruit is not a sweet, lovely, inoffensive smell. Grapefruit is an explosion. I never thought you’d find me waxing poetic about grapefruit, but here we go. Pampelune does have other notes as well, it changes with time. It’s very interesting.

 

I recommend smelling both at the store (and also check out Herba Fresca and Lys Soleia when you’re at it. Lys Soleia is a warm scent though, not fresh like the others I’ve named) and maybe you’re lucky and Limon Verde lasts a lot longer on you than it does on me.

 

Sooo, this was my first ever perfume review. I’m really bad at naming notes, sorry. Would you like my incoherent and amateur rambling about perfume to become a regular feature?

5 thoughts on “Summer Scents: Guerlain Aqua Allegoria

  1. I love citrusy perfumes during the summer. I love Chanel Chance Eau Fraiche and may take a look at that one but i also want Guerlain’s La Petit Robe Noire too. I am due a new perfume, having just finished DKNY Pure.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.